About Char Dham Yatra

Char Dham is referred to the four Hindu religious sites in Uttarakhand state of India. These are Yamunotri, Gangotri, Badrinath and Kedarnath. Nestled in the lap of majestic Himalayas, these four sites are the epicenter of religious activity in north India. Traditionally, the Chardham yatra is undertaken from the west to the east. Thus, the yatra starts from Yamunotri, then proceeding to Gangotri and finally to Kedarnath and Badrinath.

Amongst the four Char Dhams, Yamunotri and Gangotri are dedicated to goddesses Yamuna and Ganga respectively. On the other hand, Kedarnath is dedicated to Lord Shiva while Badrinath is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. Moreover, people also visit Hemkund Sahib in the vicinity, which is one of the highest located religious sites in the country. Thus, pilgrims visit all these places in aspiration of washing away their sins and to attain salvation, by the blessings of the Lord.

  • Visnupryag
  • Nand ptrayag
  • Karnaprayag
  • Rudraprayag
  • Devprayag
  • Badrinath
  • Yogdhayan Badri
  • Bhavishya Badri
  • Bridh Badri
  • Adi Badri
  • Kalpeshwar
  • Kedarnath
  • Madmaheshwar
  • Tungnath
  • Rudranath